Pavia, Italy, May 14-16, 2014
Keynote Speech 1
Computational Time Reversal - A Frontier in Electromagnetics
Wolfgang J. R. Hoefer
University of Victoria, Canada, and Faustus Scientific Corporation, Canada
Wednesday, May 14, 11:00-11:40
The second law of thermodynamics will likely prevent us from ever reversing time on earth. Time reversal may thus strike us as a frivolous idea. However, our computational models of the laws of physics – notably our models of wave propagation – empower us to commute freely between virtual past and virtual future, and to interchange cause and effect. This capability has opened a new frontier in electromagnetic design which has been explored only tentatively so far. A major stumbling block has been the restriction of time and space discrete models to wavelengths that are large compared to the space discretization parameter, a rule which dramatically impedes the reconstruction of electromagnetic objects due to the Abbe resolution limit. By abandoning this restriction we achieve superresolution limited only by the space step of the algorithm. This critical insight promises to be the key to future progress and success. The talk will explore the features and challenges of computational time reversal, demonstrate the methodology by means of live simulation examples, and discuss potential future applications in optimal electromagnetic design.
Wolfgang J. R. Hoefer is Professor emeritus at the University of Victoria, Canada, and President of Faustus Scientific Corporation. He studied Electrical Engineering at the RWTH Aachen, Germany, and the University of Grenoble, France. In 1969 he joined the University of Ottawa, Canada, as a Faculty member and was Chair of Electrical Engineering from 1978 to 1981. In 1992 he joined the University of Victoria as Professor and NSERC Industrial Research Chair in RF Engineering, and founded the Computational Electromagnetic Research Laboratory (CERL) which he directed until 2006. From 2009 to 2012 he was Principal Scientist and Department Director at the Institute of High Performance Computing, Singapore. He held visiting appointments at the Universities of Grenoble, Rome-Tor Vergata, Nice-Sophia Antipolis, Perugia, Munich and Duisburg, the Ferdinand Braun Institute in Berlin, the ETH Zürich, AEG-Telefunken, CRC Ottawa, the Agency of Science, Technology and Research (A*STAR)of Singapore, and the Georgia Institute of Technology, Atlanta, USA. He is a Life Fellow of IEEE, and a Fellow of the Royal Society of Canada, the Canadian Academy of Engineering, the German Academy of Science and Engineering (ACATECH), the Advanced System Institute of British Columbia, and the Electromagnetics Academy (MIT). He is on the honor roll of the IEEE MTT Society, served as MTT Distinguished Microwave Lecturer, and received the MTT Distinguished Educator Award, the MTT Pioneer Award, and the McNaughton Gold Medal of IEEE Canada. He is also the recipient of the Peter B. Johns Prize, the ACES Mainstay Award, and the A*STAR Most Inspiring Mentor Award. He holds an honorary doctorate (Dr.-Ing. h.c.) from the Technische Universität München, Germany.